F2PSolforge: End of the Line

3 August 2015 edit – I did an AMA about this experiment. You can read about it here.

4 August 2015 edit – If you would like to start from Day 1, it’s here. Recap posts (sorted by the Recap tag) are here.

Original post is below:

The Free To Play Run has finished.

I did it! It took 64 days, but I managed to build a competitive Constructed deck from scratch, spending absolutely no money, and then taking that deck in the Constructed Queues for a 4-0 finish.

Of course, the Solforge experience doesn’t end there.  If I were a true budget player, I would continue to grind the queues (as I’ve just proved it is possible), keep editing my deck, and keep winning prize packs to continue to progress my collection. Eventually I’d be able to build other decks, play around some with those decks, then grind for more cards.

This is the process. This is one I’ve already done – on my main account! And as much as I’ve enjoyed doing this f2p blog, I don’t want to be making content to continue the progression of a Solforge account. My goal in writing this blog was to prove that F2P was definitely possible in a reasonable time frame. Just over two months feels like a very reasonable time to become completely constructed competitive with zero money investment. So I consider that goal accomplished. Continuing to progress with this account would allow me to continue producing content for the Solforge community… but the content I’m able to produce in this way would be much less flexible were I to continue my own pursuits.

Let’s look at some stats.

These are the stats for the entirety of my F2P run. All 64 days.

So obviously, we can infer that my win rate had an affect on the rate at which I was able to accrue cards/silver. But, the bulk of my collection was obtained through Casual Draft (which win rate has little effect on) and the simple opening of the two daily boosters plus the daily silver. My win rate was good, yes, but I played the queues that minimized my skill as a player to better emulate a new player’s expectations.

F2P is a reality.

F2P is over. What’s next?

I don’t intend to simply stop all content creation. I discovered that I really like recording videos and writing articles, sharing knowledge so that other people can try to improve. I don’t claim to be perfect, but hopefully people learned even from watching me make stupid mistakes.

Creating content has been fun, and I don’t plan to stop it. I have been working on another project, recently, as a collaborative effort between myself and several other individuals. I can’t go into much detail about it right now since it is still in the works, but I can say that I’m looking forward to unveiling it and have the content I’ve been working on for the last week or so finally digested and criticized. So be sure to look forward to that!

And that just wraps up F2PSolforge. It’s been a blast and a learning experience, and I hope y’all learned a thing or two, be it from my awful play or from the actual journey of going from a Day 1 Solforge account all the way to a competitive constructed deck.

Thanks for reading!

-Lee McLeod

“Gard”

3 August 2015 edit – I did an AMA about this experiment. You can read about it here.

4 August 2015 edit – If you would like to start from Day 1, it’s here. Recap posts (sorted by the Recap tag) are here.

